Monday, June 9, 2008


There are 7 stages of grieving. A cycle has been established by Kubler-Ross. There is much more information at their website:

Here are the 7 stages of grieving:
You can click on the stage and it will take you to their site so you can read more about it.

Shock stage: Initial paralysis at hearing the bad news.
Denial stage: Trying to avoid the inevitable.
Anger stage: Frustrated outpouring of bottled-up emotion.
Bargaining stage: Seeking in vain for a way out.
Depression stage: Final realization of the inevitable.
Testing stage: Seeking realistic solutions.
Acceptance stage: Finally finding the way forward.

We grieve when we find out our children have RAD. Our children grieve about the loss' in their life. I am going through this cycle again. After over a year of Attachment and EMDR therapy my child is too afraid to move forward. I wanted it so much. Look at where you are in the cycle and know it is temporary. You will move on to the next stage and toward that day of healing. It is coming. Different time lines for different kids but keep believing!


Family Gregg said...

My boy w/out RAD is grieving the loss of the dream sister (w/RAD) that he thought he would have by now. He is in the Testing Stage....finally. Realizing he's in a rut w/her ....moving past depression and wanting to move forward.....testing new ways.

She's in the angry stage mostly....moving slowly past it. Slow and steady........

Brenda said...

family gregg,

It is hard to watch them grieve, and we wish we could hurry them through, but we have to just let it be. That is hard isn't it? Sounds like you are really in touch with your kids feelings.

Rachelle said...

Those stages a very accurate, just from my own experiences from grieving death. I really never thought about grieving something you feel like you've lost with someone living.....interesting.

Denise said...

I remember learning about these stages when I was in college. I have referred to them quite a bit in my lifetime. Having an understanding of the different phases really does help you to get in touch with your feelings and helps you realize that it's okay to feel a certain way because it is part of the process.

Kathy said...

It's been crazy watching so many family members in so many stages of grief!